Shehbaz Sharif, Omar Ayub file nomination papers for PM’s Election.

General National

Shehbaz Sharif, the joint candidate of PML-N and PPP, and PTI-backed Sunni Ittehad Council’s candidate Omar Ayub have filed their nomination papers for the elections of the office of Prime Minister.

Secretary of National Assembly received the nomination papers.

A candidate needs 169 votes in the 336-member parliament to be elected the premier.

The PML-N and its allies, including the Pakistan People’s Party, claim to have enjoyed the support of over 200 lawmakers.

Independent candidates backed by Imran Khan’s PTI won the most MPs with 93 in the Feb. 8 elections.

Yesterday, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s Sardar Ayaz Sadiq was elected as the 22nd speaker of the National Assembly (NA).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *